IT Innovators
follow us on Facebook   twitter   IT Innovators Blog IT Innovators Home PageContact UsIT Remote Support
IT Innovators Navigation Bar

You Have Ideas.....We Have Solutions!  Call us Today



IT Innovators has teamed with EMR Electronic Medical Record providers to bring these powerful applications to small and medium physicians and their offices.

We have experience integrating and servicing both IPA’s and remote offices.  We can help your practice.

The federal government has greatly incentivized the healthcare industry to adopt computers and the latest EMR software to modernize your practice.  They are even paying you to do it through their reimbursement program.

Read through the information below and then contact us at to learn how we can help you.

Who Qualifies for the EHR/EMR Healthcare Stimulus?

The HITECH Act specifies that physicians can qualify for $44,000 or more in economic stimulus incentives for adopting an EHR. What does this exactly mean? Does your practice qualify? Here are a few answers oncerning HITECH incentives from Practice Fusion:

Are HITECH incentives per physician or per office?

HITECH incentives are paid on a per provider basis. For example, a practice with two physicians and a nurse practitioner using an EHR could qualify for $132,000 in Medicare incentives.

What types of health care providers can qualify for HITECH incentives?

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009(ARRA – start on page 114) details that the following all qualify for HITECH incentives:

  • Hospitals
  • Skilled nursing facilities
  • Nursing facilities
  • Home health entities
  • Long term care facilities
  • Health care clinics
  • Community mental health centers
  • Renal dialysis facilities
  • Blood centers
  • Ambulatory surgical centers
  • Emergency medical service providers

  • Federally qualified health centers (FQHC)
  • Group practices
  • Pharmacists
  • Laboratories
  • Physicians (See below)
  • Practitioners (See below)
  • Indian Health Service providers
  • Rural health clinics
  • Therapists

  • What types of physicians qualify for HITECH incentives?

    The following types of practices can all qualify for $44,000 or more in HITECH stimulus incentives according to the definitions in the Social Security Act, section 1861(r):

    Doctor of Medicine or Osteopathy – M.D. or D.O.
    Doctor of Dental Surgery or Medicine – D.D.S or D.D.M
    Doctor of Podiatric Medicine – D.P.M
    Doctor of Optometry – O.D.
    Chiropractor – D.C.

    What types of medical practitioners are included in HITECH?

    In addition to the list above, ARRA references “providers as defined in the Social Security Act, section 1842” as qualifying for HITECH incentives.
    This includes:

    A physician assistant, nurse practitioner, or clinical nurse specialist
    A certified registered nurse anesthetist
    A certified nurse-midwife
    A clinical social worker
    A clinical psychologist
    A registered dietitian or nutrition professional

    Which geographic areas qualify for HITECH incentives?

    ARRA specifies the following regions and territories as qualifying for HITECH incentives:

    All 50 US states
    The District of Columbia
    Puerto Rico
    The Virgin Islands
    American Samoa
    The Northern Mariana Islands

    What types of medical practices do not qualify for HITECH incentives?

    The following types of practices do not qualify for incentives based on our current understanding of the program:

    Free clinics that don’t bill Medicare or Medicaid
    Physical therapists
    Hospital-based physicians such as pathologists, anesthesiologists or emergency physicians
    Acupuncturists and other holistic providers
    Any practice not eligible for Medicare or Medicaid payments

    IT Innovators
    Services you can trust

    IT Innovators
    Your Total Information Technology Solution Provider

    Please contact us at
    Copyright 2010 IT Innovators, Inc.
    Privacy Statement